Rear Brake lines...

Suspension, Brakes, Tires, Wheels steeringetc..
Outlaw
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member
City: San Antone
State: TX

Rear Brake lines...

Post by Outlaw »

So the e-brake lines (i think) seem to have a special fitment inside the backing plate. It had a plastic piece that went inside the backing plate and then flared out. From that, a wire poked through to connect to the brakes. (i know, horrible description, i'm new at this). This was a pain to remove. Where can I get a new one or are they universal? i don't want to wire up my e-brake yet, but since i'm about to assemble everything i guess now would be the time to put that cable in.. If i'm not describing it very well, i can post pics...

I was also thinking of doing hydrolic lock line instead of an e-brake but thats just an idear....? Anything i need to do while i have the rear brakes apart and all new inner pieces? oil/lube/advice/thoughts/ideas/help...?

Hobcobble
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Re: Rear Brake lines...

Post by Hobcobble »

Outlaw wrote:So the e-brake lines (i think) seem to have a special fitment inside the backing plate. It had a plastic piece that went inside the backing plate and then flared out. From that, a wire poked through to connect to the brakes. (i know, horrible description, i'm new at this). This was a pain to remove. Where can I get a new one or are they universal? i don't want to wire up my e-brake yet, but since i'm about to assemble everything i guess now would be the time to put that cable in.. If i'm not describing it very well, i can post pics...

I was also thinking of doing hydrolic lock line instead of an e-brake but thats just an idear....? Anything i need to do while i have the rear brakes apart and all new inner pieces? oil/lube/advice/thoughts/ideas/help...?
I believe the original keeper on the e-brake housing that locks itself against the inside
of the backing plate would have been metal. Sounds like someone might have replaced