**OPEN TECHNICAL HELP FOR ALL SWEPTLINE MODELS AND PROBLEMS**
Brayday0
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member
City: Seattle
State: WA

383 Exhaust questions

Post by Brayday0 »

I am the new owner of a '69 D200 with a 383ci. It has nasty rusty headers that have holes. The headers each terminate in new mufflers under the cab. I do have a set of factory exhaust manifolds that are in good shape.

I want to pull off the old headers and put on the factory manifolds, and obviously need to build out the exhaust system. I am a c minus mechanic, good welder and metal fabricator, but no tools for custom pipe bending.

Questions

1) Is it reasonable to sourch repro exaust pieces and maybe mix and match with off the shelf pieces to cobble together a system?
2) Single or dual system?
3) Better to just pay a pro shop to handle the work?
4) Sources for correct pipes? Especially the down pipes.

martincom
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member
City: Five Points
State: AL

Re: 383 Exhaust questions

Post by martincom »

1) Is it reasonable to sourch repro exaust pieces and maybe mix and match with off the shelf pieces to cobble together a system?
No

2) Single or dual system? It depends on how much you want to spend and if your truck is a racer or a truck.

3) Better to just pay a pro shop to handle the work?
See below.

4) Sources for correct pipes? Especially the down pipes. Nobody offers just "down pipes". Vehicles vary wildly as to how much room they have for routing, clearing steering linkage, crossmembers, etc. See below for link to complete systems.

If the exhaust system is solid, from the header collectors rearward, I'd retain it, considering the dollars involved to replace it. I've never had much success with muffler shops, but maybe your luck will be better than mine. I'd have them fabricate what you need from the exhaust manifolds to your existing.