SteveH
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member
City: Auburn
State: AL

New Member,..Just bought a 66 W200

Post by SteveH »

Hello There !

Was cruising Craigslist last week and saw this W200,...and realized it was about two miles down the road !
It's here now, and I'm just starting to go through it. Lots of abuse this truck has had,...and lots of "mods" but nothing irreversible. I'm new to Mopar, and Power Wagons, but not mechanicals, I've done a lot of other vehicles, some motorcycles, pre war boats,,...even laid hands on an airplane or two.
Mainly wanting to know some spec details, and originality questions as I go along.
IMG_0143.JPG
IMG_0146.JPG
IMG_0150.JPG
I've already ordered the big service manual for this, and it's on the way, but want to get started looking for the correct spec carb right away. The truck is a 66 W200 with the poly 318 with a PTO winch attached to the rear.
83,000 original miles. It's basically rust free save for the driver's side rocker.

The seller said, "it runs, but the carb needs work".
Haha,...that's an understatement. Yes,...I was able to get it started and actually drove it the two miles to my place.
BUT,...when I got into it, I was amazed I could even get that short hop done.

Found:

Three plug wires on the wrong plug.
Timing off by ten degrees.
Points gapped at 50 thou.
Four plugs gapped at 8 thou.
And the cherry on top?.....well,....
There is a 650 carter four barrel carb,....perched atop a stock two barrel manifold....with an "adaptor" plate cobbled in between !

It never ceases to amaze me what some people will do.

I've got the other stuff sorted fully, but now want to go back to stock carb. I've done extensive online searching and although I've found that a Strombert WW 3 would be the right carb,...I can't find anywhere which model number would be the EXACT stock for my model/year/engine. (I am assuming the model number would denote the Venturi/jets/etc. sizes)