brakes

Suspension, Brakes, Tires, Wheels steeringetc..
Guy

brakes

Post by Guy »

Ok here is my situation.
I have a 71 d100. I have drum brakes all around and a 440. The front tires are skinny 4" drag tires the rear end has wide meats, also the rear end is an 8 3/4 with a 489 case posi so I am assuming its a Dana 60?
(bought the truck off of ebay and it looks alot like the cartoon truck above)
So I am thinking I'd like to put disc brakes BUT in the REAR as the front would probably just lock up based on how narrow the front tires are.
Is that making any sense? can a proportioning valve balance out a rear disc/ front drum setup?? I know about ugly trucklings disc front kit but it seems like alot of work for little pay off based on my wheel tire selection.
I read somewhere that a mid ford pickup could supply me the rear disc setup with out too much hassle. If anyone could point me in the right direction. Also I have a manual master cyclinder.
Thanks,
G

wideblock
Founding Member
Founding Member
City: las cruces nm
State: NM

Post by wideblock »

wilwood company offers an adjustable proportioning valve, you can put it on then go out and play with it till you get the balance you prefer. upgrading to power brakes would be my first start, and the adjustable valve, and see how that leaves you. might just be good like that without the disc conversion.