Wheel Stud Replacement

Suspension, Brakes, Tires, Wheels steeringetc..
67step100
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member
City: Niagara, ON
State: Foreign

Wheel Stud Replacement

Post by 67step100 »

So I went and had my tires replaced today and one of the rear wheel studs is toast, as is the nut (stripped). So I need to replace it and this is something I have never done before. Brake pads, wheel cylinders, lines, calipers etc yes but never a wheel stud. Is it as simple as it shows on the videos? Remove wheel, remove drum (it's a rear wheel stud), drive out stud, replace stud with new one, tighten into place, replace drum, reinstall wheel with a new nut? Thanks for any comments. Another new task to perform.

PwrWgnDrvr
Sweptline.ORG Pioneer
Sweptline.ORG Pioneer

Re: Wheel Stud Replacement

Post by PwrWgnDrvr »

Search "swedging wheel studs" and "removing swedged wheel studs".

67step100
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member

Post by 67step100 »

PwrWgnDrvr wrote:
Fri Jul 30, 2021 7:51 pm
Search "swedging wheel studs" and "removing swedged wheel studs".
OK so i did some reading and not sure if I fully understand it. So the studs, which are splined, are pulled into the hub and then peened so they don't back out by accident? Do I have that right?

Will I be able to remove the drum by itself or is this part of the "swedging" and the hub and drum are now one unit? If I can remove the drum can I not cut the stud at the surface of the hub and then drill it out?

Will I be able to see that the stud has been peened if I can remove the drum from the hub?

Is swedging the same as swaging?

67step100
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member

Post by 67step100 »

So I found a thread on the H.A.M.B. site that describes how to remove the stud. https://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/thr ... al.378894/