Mustang II IFS install

Suspension, Brakes, Tires, Wheels steeringetc..
Drummerdad
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member
City: gray
State: TN

Mustang II IFS install

Post by Drummerdad »

I was asked to start a thread with only the IFS install, so...you asked for it.

When I started looking into adding an IFS to Isaacs truck, I did the normal research I usually do. A google search, read a bunch of articles, watch some youtube videos, and look through parts catalogs. I had never done anything this in depth before. I couldnt weld, but I was familiar with measurements and conversions, and had a good mechanical background. I am an avionics installer, who also does sheet metal fabrication on aircraft for a small completion center. Before this I had re-wired a car, and quite a few helicopters. I had made custom mounts for radios and navigation equipment for lots of aircraft. I have a good electrical background, and I do well reading schematics and blueprints. I learned to weld (barely) along the way, and I am still figuring this out.

I found there was not a lot of information really. There were three basic front suspension ideas; crown vic swap, front clip swap, and the IFS. I didnt want the crown vic because of track width. I didnt want to do the clip swap either. For some reason I landed on the IFS. For the record, I think both the CV swap and the front clip swap would be easier, and way cheaper. I underestimated the scope of this install.