Power Brake Conversion

Suspension, Brakes, Tires, Wheels steeringetc..
wayfinch
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member
City: Kingston
State: WA

Power Brake Conversion

Post by wayfinch »

Hello all,
New to the forum here, and have a question about upgrading to power brakes. Be for y'all blast me I have checked the forum (and could have missed it) but didn't see any thing about what brake booster can I use on a 68 D100. I am a decent mechanic, just never really done a power brake conversion. I can't seem to find any info on what I need to look for with a brake booster. will any booster work, and how do I determine rod/ stroke length; is it as simple as measuring the from the pedal connection to the to where the booster beings. will I need to upgrade the master cylinder or can I use the one I have? I plan on keeping drums front and rear till I get the time to throw the 440 I have in to her; at which time I'm goanna convert to front disk. Is there anything I missed or any other info I need to get this done. I plan on using 3/16 cooper/nickel lines and replacing all the lines and rebuilding all for drums. Any help is appreciated. Cause as soon as this done and i repair the crack in the radiator she will be road worthy once again. thanks again for help and input :banghead
Waylon
If doesn't work the first time; you didn't use a big enough hammer.

dodgeboykim
Sweptline.ORG Pioneer
Sweptline.ORG Pioneer
City: Chilliwack. B.C. Canada
State: Foreign

Re: Power Brake Conversion

Post by dodgeboykim »

I used an Up swept style booster and brackets form an early 70's Dart A body and fabricated the arm from pedal to linkage form 1 inch x 1/2 inch cold rolled heated , Bent and fitted. That was 35 years ago. You can adapt most any booster yo want with a little thought and if it will fit the space.

phpbabhqlPM.jpg
phpbabhqlPM.jpg (47.75 KiB) Viewed 857 times
phpmuJ7TnPM.jpg
phpmuJ7TnPM.jpg (45.6 KiB) Viewed 857 times
My truck is younger than me.