Axle Flip Results

Suspension, Brakes, Tires, Wheels steeringetc..
hullinger
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member
City: wilmington
State: DE

Axle Flip Results

Post by hullinger »

So on my '65 Utiline, I just recently completed the axle flip. With the flip I also removed the two smallest leaf springs as well. I've got the truck sitting really low in the rear now and she's looking good. The problem is the truck bottoms out pretty easily and I'm tail dragging a bit too. I'm gonna start experimenting with ways to get the rear up another inch or two but wanted to run this question by y'all. With the axle flip, does adding a leaf spring to the rear raise the rear of the truck any, or does it simply stiffen up the ride?

Chris
Wilmington, DE

abody
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member
City: Kissimmee
State: FL

Re: Axle Flip Results

Post by abody »

Hi,
I am by no means an expert but you could leave it that low for when you are at a car show and put air shocks on it.
They are not 100% dependable but super easy to install. Just my two cents. Was thinking about going the same route with my 61'

Hobcobble
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Post by Hobcobble »

hullinger wrote:does adding a leaf spring to the rear raise the rear of the truck any, or does it simply stiffen up the ride?

Chris
Wilmington, DE
I'd say the leaf will raise the truck at least the thickness of the leaf. :thinking :lol:
As far as stiffening the ride, adding a leaf[s] back to your pack will stiffen the
ride a bit. If you're that close to the ground though.... that extra bit of rigidity
might very well save the lower rear corners of the box.... :pale :pale
John

hullinger
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member

Post by hullinger »

Guys,