steering issues totally resolved.....

Suspension, Brakes, Tires, Wheels steeringetc..
wideblock
Founding Member
Founding Member
City: las cruces nm
State: NM

steering issues totally resolved.....

Post by wideblock »

today i got froggy and spent about 6 hours under and around my 69 d200 crew cab just tinkering with little things that have bugged me. last week i removed the power steering that was leaking in favor of the factory manual set up. so today i got up under it to see if i could fix the turning radius a bit. well, after numerous trips under it, back up to the steering wheel, and back under it, success was had. i removed the steering stabilizer the previous owner had installed (turned out it didnt have enough throw to it) and gained almost a half turn to the right on the steering wheel. doesnt sound like much, but in this truck, every little bit helps. so i started playing with the turn stops. well, when all was said and done, i now have 2 1/4 turns from center in either direction on the wheel before i hit the stops. this is all the steering geometry would allow before going over center on the steering arm throw. now my old crew can do a 3 point turn in a 2 lane road. before it was a 5 or 6 point turn to get turned around. i gained totall almost a full turn of the steering wheel to the left, and a little over half a turn to the right. man, did this make a huge difference. but you guys with power steering will need to know that you will not be able to get the same results due to the steering valve and hoses connected to the steering arm. you will hit the hoses with the tire if you go this far. and this is by far the simplist cure, just loosen the lock nut, and crank on the stop bolt till its the way you want it. how hard can that be??? while i was out there i also threw on my 16.5x10 rims with the 31/10.50/16.5 tires on the back of my rig. gave them a fresh coat of paint, and they look stock, but then again they dont. but they do a fine job of filling that