Carburetor Re-Jetting

Engine, transmission, rear-end, driveline, fuel system etc..
martincom
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member
City: Five Points
State: AL

Carburetor Re-Jetting

Post by martincom »

Well, I've been procrastinating re-jetting my sweptline's carburetor for nearly two years. The doubling of the price of gasoline finally prompted me to get it done, even though I only drove my sweptline approximately 2000 miles annually. My mileage was 13MPG city. I'm hoping for 18 MPG when I've completed the task.

Reading Sparkplugs

Back before air/fuel meters and when dinosaurs roamed the earth (according to my daughters), we determined whether a fuel mixture was rich, lean, or about correct by "reading" sparkplugs. This typically consisted of operating the vehicle at a steady highway speed for a couple of miles and simultaneously shutting off the engine and shifting into neutral. In this manner, the "burn" coloration of the electrode insulator could be captured when the carburetor was operating from the main metering circuit. Of course, this meant removing sparkplugs on a hot engine and inspecting them on the shoulder of the highway. This usually resulted in Chevrolet and Ford drivers honking their horns on the way by and shouting something laced with expletives you couldn't understand. Not to mention, burnt fingertips and wrists when doing so on a big block Mopar. You could easily consume an entire weekend re-jetting a carburetor.

Cost Justifying an Air/Fuel Meter

With age comes wisdom, for at least some of us, and the reluctance to experience pain, both physically and to our egos. Not to mention our time became far more valuable. So I really did not desire to re-jet a carburetor by reading sparkplugs. The painless method to re-jet a carburetor is with an air/fuel meter, which eliminates sparkplug reading. The only problem is cost. They're expensive. I have about $700 into mine. Thus the big reason for the procrastination.