How do you know if you need new seals?

Engine, transmission, rear-end, driveline, fuel system etc..
67D100Pickup
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member
City: Noble
State: OK

How do you know if you need new seals?

Post by 67D100Pickup »

First, if you've read some of my other posts you know I'm not a mechanic. Just trying to keep the truck running in good form...

I'm seeing oil dripping from the clutch cover.

How can I tell if my transmission seals are good?

If I tilt it back and oil comes out does that mean it needs a rear seal?

Same for the front?

Jeff

martincom
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member
City: Five Points
State: AL

Re: How do you know if you need new seals?

Post by martincom »

Which engine? It could be the transmission input seal or the rear main seal. However, if it s a V8, the usual culprit is valve cover gaskets. They become hard, from the exhaust manifold heat, and will not seal any more. The oil usually flows along the edge and down the bell housing.

I've been utilizing Moroso valve cover gaskets from Summit Racing. They're pricey, but they last quite a bit longer, are re-usable, and they don't leak.
1*1971 D100 318 A/T
1*1970 Charger R/T 440-6PK A/T
2*1969 Daytona Charger 440 A/T
1*1969 Coronet R/T awaiting restoration
1*1969 Torino Talladega awaiting restoration

67D100Pickup
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member

Post by 67D100Pickup »

martincom wrote:
Sun Aug 29, 2021 8:25 pm
Which engine? It could be the transmission input seal or the rear main seal. However, if it s a V8, the usual culprit is valve cover gaskets. They become hard, from the exhaust manifold heat, and will not seal any more. The oil usually flows along the edge and down the bell housing.

I've been utilizing Moroso valve cover gaskets from Summit Racing. They're pricey, but they last quite a bit longer, are re-usable, and they don't leak.