What problems might I have changing my 70 W100 dana 44f to .

This area is for the Powerwagon 4X4 Enthusiast!
Gordo70W100

What problems might I have changing my 70 W100 dana 44f to .

Post by Gordo70W100 »

Hello everyone I am new to this sort of thing and was curious if anyone out there has changed there front axle in their sweptline to one from an 1984 dodge half-ton. I have the chance to pick one up for a bargain...$250 been rear ended but the front end is fine. Would desperately like to have the disc-brakes and the powersteering in my 70 W100. Is there any thing I should know before I purchase this truck? I don't mind having to slightly fabricate in order to make it work, just don't want to dive in totally blind. All info will be appreciated.

POWWAG
Founding Member
Founding Member
City: Maple Valley
State: WA

Post by POWWAG »

Welcome to the forum! It will bolt up to the springs ok, drive line and shock mounts maybe. The pitman arm is all wrong for the stock steering box location. You may have to use the brake master cyl. from the donor truck. I have an 1981 D44 8 lug front axle setting on the garage floor and I've stared at it and my 67 W200 alot. I think with my fabrication skills the steering issue could be solved with the stock box. I would have to change to a dual master as the 67 has the single non power master. My truck has new brakes and stops good, so I'll probably replace the felts so it keeps the oil in the knuckles and run it.

Don

Gordo70W100

Post by Gordo70W100 »

Thanks for the insight POWWAG. You said that it would work except for the pitman arm is all wrong for the stock box. Couldn't I just use the powersteering unit instead? Or does it mount so differently that I couldn't fab it in place?

POWWAG
Founding Member
Founding Member
City: Maple Valley
State: WA

Post by POWWAG »