EnglandStGarage
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member
City: Huntington Beach
State: CA

New guy with dodge rv seeking knowledge

Post by EnglandStGarage »

Hello every body,

New guy here looking to gain some knowledge.

I recently purchased an old RV to restore and customize. It's a 1970 Dodge Starcraft powered by a 318. They only made 12 of these and I cannot find any info on this. I'm new to Dodge/Mopar and this is my first RV. I usually stick to building old Harley's and I was a Toyota and Porsche tech in my late teens-mid 20's. So I am pretty mechanically inclined but I could definitely use some help from die hard Mopar guys.

I believe the chassis is on a W200 or 300?? Still trying to figure it out by comparing pics online.

It has dual rear wheels and leaf suspension all around.

My biggest problem at the moment is finding wheels that will fit 5/8 lugs and getting away from these split rims. I talked to one guy who owns one and he said he got some steel rims off a 02 ram 3500 and drilled the lugs to 5/8. Does that sound safe to you guys? I believe the lug nuts are tapered. He also mentioned that the lugs on the drivers side are reversed thread. Does this make sense to anybody?

If anyone out there is familiar with these or can point me in the right direction as far as some cheap wheel replacements or solutions it would be much appreciated!!

I hope I'm in the right place. All the RV forums are full of $100k+ hotels on wheels.

I'm just trying to build a cool hot rod surf bus and thought this might be the spot where I belong.

And now for some pics:
ImageImageImageImage

Sprinter
Sweptline.ORG Member
Sweptline.ORG Member
City: Nampa
State: ID

Re: New guy with dodge rv seeking knowledge

Post by Sprinter »